Wildflowersinohio's Blog

From The Write Side of My Brain

The Summer of My Discontent July 19, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Birgit Nazarian @ 1:21 pm

I don’t think this is one of the whiny rants that so many writers comment on being so pervasive in the cyberworld. Maybe it is. I got this itch to write and divulge what was bothering me, about writing and moving forward. Sometimes we just get stuck, like the wheel of a car in a rut and can’t get out. I am spinning my wheels. For weeks now and it sucks.

Explaining it all would just bore any readers I might have. It’s fine with me now that I might have 0 readers because I don’t feel ready for “prime time” anyway. Back to being stuck. It’s not exactly writer’s block, I hardly ever have a lack of ideas for material to write. It’s more about where do I go from here and if I take the wrong path, what if I lose any progress I have made?

Gut it out? Go forward anyway? Terrifying. We are all complicated and conflicted after all. The only thing that makes sense to do is just follow a feeling. When there is danger run, when there is yearning follow it. Standing still feels miserable.

 

Leave a Reply

