Wildflowersinohio's Blog

From The Write Side of My Brain

Exploring Genres October 17, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Birgit Nazarian @ 2:35 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Image

For a few years I wrote freelance articles. Before that I wrote novel length YA fiction, mostly of the adventure and fantasy variety. Returning to fiction after being essentially a journalist covering technology is harder than I thought. I began what I thought might be a romantic suspense novel only to find myself a couple chapters into it, feeling overwhelmed. I’d written five novels in the past and I knew just how much time it was going to take. 

When you become used to writing a 500-750 word article and having it published 3 – 5 days later, the thought of how long it will take to see your novel completed (let alone published or shared!) can be crushing.

We all know that when creative expression isn’t born of passion it’s going to pretty much suck. So I put those couple chapters aside. One night I had a dream. I remembered the dream well enough the next day to see potential for a story. So I wrote it in a few days time. It turned out decent. I won’t say I am in love with it, but I like it. 

After that, I got an idea. Why not write only short stories for a while? Why not do ANYTHING I want with them? Why not let myself write ANY GENRE at all? The idea of jumping around different kinds of stories and genres really excites me. I think it’s because that’s where I am at right now. I need that. It’s like trying different jobs out before you find your true profession (if only we could have done that more during high school and college, right?)

Next up, I am going to write a ghost story. Because it’s October and I am in the mood for trying my hand at scary. My goal is to write a story a week for a while until I have a collection of them. Then I will pick the best ones to share. 

 

 

2 Responses to “Exploring Genres”

  1. riversflownewmexico Says:

    Thanks for reblogging this. I read it on the original post. Its just unbelievable we have to suffer long after combat and we have come home.
    Btw I wanted to let you know that I have nominated your blog for “One Lovely Blog Award” Your blog is informative and I’m sure an inspiration of hope to all of our brothers and sisters who read it and or visit your actual location. Thanks for all you do!.
    http://riversflownewmexico.wordpress.com/2012/10/23/i-have-been-nominated-for-the-one-lovely-blog-award-thanks/

    • Thank you that’s very nice! I was going to do a post about my recent trip solo and how PTSD affected me. People might think I am a bit nutso, but I think people who know PTSD will recognize the feelings and understand. I also think it helped me to forge through uncomfortable situations.


Leave a Reply

