Wildflowersinohio's Blog

From The Write Side of My Brain

What Makes a Good Ghost Story? October 23, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized,writing — Birgit Nazarian @ 10:01 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Image

I just finished a short ghost story. It’s not that scary. More like the kind that might evoke a chill rather than the scare you straight out of your pants variety.

I’d like to try my hand at a scarier one. I guess the type of ghost story or horror story is a personal preference. I’ve read a lot of  ghost stories that fall flat. It’s a “You kind of had to be there.” thing.

Do you think “Washington Irving’s “The Headless Horseman” lives up to being considered a gold standard in this genre? I recently read it and found it long winded. “Get to the good part!” I kept thinking. I tell my kids about how we used to play “Bloody Mary” in the mirror with a candle and the lights off when I was their age. We didn’t even know who “Bloody Mary” was but it scared the beejeebers out of us when someone would sneak up behind us and appear in that mirror we were concentrating on.

So what do you think makes a good scare on paper (or Kindle)?

 

Leave a Reply

