Wildflowersinohio's Blog

From The Write Side of My Brain

Observations about NaNoWriMo Writing November 6, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Birgit Nazarian @ 9:35 am
Tags: , , , ,

Image

 

Well, I am on my 6th day of NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month and I can already see how it’s affecting my writing. Getting into this I knew I would not be putting out spectacular fiction so I feel a little uneasy about the way I am going about putting out a story but on the other hand, if I remember my own advice in the last post, that not all writing needs to be salable to be important, it’s all good.

Look, EVERYDAY I’ve been in my chair in front of my laptop writing a story! Before that I was hemming and hawing and not sure and flip flopping between ideas and stories and just not diving in and being bold. NaNoWriMo is forcing me to do what I don’t do – JUST GO FOR IT! Who cares if it sucks or if there is a problem up the road into the middle of the story. This is about problem solving, writing your way out of a dead end, keeping momentum going, establishing a habit to write no matter what.

So if you’re one of those writers who can’t decide what to write or can’t stick with a plot when it goes a little sideways it could be a great exercise for you to write a novel in a month. 

I have some words to get down in my story right now before I go and vote. But I’ve been busier than usual writing and I thought I would update you on how it’s going. 

 

2 Responses to “Observations about NaNoWriMo Writing”

  1. lucy Says:

    I cant believe that I find Your blog ( during surfing across the Internet 🙂
    I always want to stumble upon a blog like yours.
    I love writing and I am looking forward to seeing your next advice and reflection on how to write. Good job!

    • Thanks! I have been working hard at NaNoWriMo. I find that I write better at night so tonight I will be doing another couple thousand words. I think this experiment is really good. I always worked better with a deadline!


Leave a Reply

