Wildflowersinohio's Blog

From The Write Side of My Brain

Capturing Unexpected Inspiration November 13, 2012

Filed under: writing — Birgit Nazarian @ 11:28 am
Tags: , , , ,

It isn’t lost on me how coincidental and timely my discovery of the perfect location for a scene in the novel I am writing was. It just goes to show you how much serendipity goes into novel writing. I know I am dovetailing this entry with my last one “Season of Spookiness” in Morning Warmup but it has to do so much with my writing and the idea of finding inspiration unexpectedly.

Say, like me, you are writing a scene and it’s okay but you can’t seem to breathe life into the setting. I wasn’t sure exactly how this old abandoned farm on the edge of the woods would look–other than a general idea. Part of what I do habitually is go out for a jog or hike in the woods sometimes somewhere familiar and sometimes somewhere new. I chose to go for a run in a new place and I never expected to find the abandoned farm on the edge of the woods! But when I did the scene got a lot more authentic and detailed. I could see and feel it in the writing because I saw and felt it.

Sometimes you’ll find inspiration in places you didn’t expect to discover. Sometimes you need to go look at places you think might inspire you. I almost always carry my cell phone with a camera and a note app. This is a great idea because should you see something unbelievable or perfect for your story you can document it. Had I know about the abandoned farm I probably would have brought a good camera and maybe made a video as well to capture the ambient sounds and make comments about my observations. Well I could have made a video but I was too awestruck and confused by the coincidence to let that idea occur to me then. But I did manage to get some photographs like the house and others which I put on Morning Warmup.

 

4 Responses to “Capturing Unexpected Inspiration”

  1. Que pena de casa!! me da pena que este abandonada. Yo la restauraria. No tiene dueño?

    un besito

    • No, es porque esta en un parque aqui. En el campo y nadie vive alli. Hay vecinos pero la gente alredador no quieren nadie molestarles. Gente pueden ser muy raras en el campo aqui. Ultimamente han detenido un hombre que vive cerca a este parque que estaba violando chicas jovenes y vendiendo fotos de ellas por internet. Imaginate. Siempre pienso en que arma llevar en sitios asi. por los animales o por los animales humanos.

  2. Heya! I realize this is sort of off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does managing a well-established blog like yours require a
    massive amount work? I’m completely new to operating a blog but I do write in my diary everyday.

    I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my experience and feelings online.
    Please let me know if you have any recommendations or tips
    for new aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

  3. Good day! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d
    figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a blog article or vice-versa?
    My site covers a lot of the same subjects as yours and I believe we
    could greatly benefit from each other. If you might be interested feel
    free to shoot me an email. I look forward to hearing from you!
    Fantastic blog by the way!


Leave a Reply

