Wildflowersinohio's Blog

From The Write Side of My Brain

Home Stretch – NaNoWriMo November 27, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Birgit Nazarian @ 2:47 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Image

I have less than 5 days and 12,000 words to go before the NaNoWriMo buzzer goes off and I have to take my hands off the keyboard. It’s been fun, productive this month and met some really nice fictional people along the way!

My characters had to develop as I wrote the story so I was getting to know them one scene at a time. I confess I am secretly in love with the main guy, Jack, he is a DEA special agent undercover who rescues Samantha, a trail runner who loses her way during a marathon and stumbles upon drug traffickers deep in the woods in upper Michigan.

I also met Pete, a local volunteer firefighter who hooks up with Samantha’s friend Kirstin during the search and rescue operation that ensues after Samantha doesn’t cross the finish line.

I tried desperately to keep my fictional characters conflicted, on the run, dodging and leaping over obstacles while at the same time showing each other plenty of affection or total lack of — depending on their role. It wasn’t easy!

But then again, a first draft is a first draft, it’s ugly and messy and the details aren’t polished. I have 4-5 more days to wrap up this baby, Jack is on his way to rescue Samantha a second time after she was kidnapped to lure him back to the criminals. Pete and Kirstin have also teamed up in the hunt so it should be a real free for all bang em up when they all converge.

After the bad guys get busted I need to leave a little space for a romantic denouement…See, I’ve read at least 500 romance novels. I know how it’s supposed to end. But sometimes the ending is the hardest part to get right. There will be no sunset beach walks or surprise pregnancy announcements in my ending but someone will get a kitten. Hmmm?  

 

3 Responses to “Home Stretch – NaNoWriMo”

  1. Que bonita foto!!! me encanta!!
    A mi no me da alergia este tipo de planta, pero mi pareja se pone malisimo. Es una pena, porque es hermosa.
    Muy buena foto.

    un besito

  2. great put up, very informative. I wonder why the other experts of this sector do not notice
    this. You should continue your writing. I’m sure, you’ve a great
    readers’ base already!


Leave a Reply

